Language Classes

NAT (Japanese Language Test)

The Japanese Language NAT-TEST is an examination that measures the Japanese language ability of students who are not native Japanese speakers. The tests are separated by difficulty (five levels) and general ability is measured in three categories: Grammar/Vocabulary, Listening and Reading Comprehension. The format of the exam and the types of questions are equivalent to those that appear on the Japanese Language Ability Test (JLPT).


The Japanese Language NAT-TEST has five levels. The easiest level is 5 and the most difficult level is 1. Each level corresponds to its respective level on the Japanese Language Proficiency Test (N5 to N1).


Levels 1 and 2 of the exam contain the following sections: Language Knowledge (reading/vocabulary/grammar) and Listening. Levels 3, 4 and 5 of the exam contain the following sections: Language Knowledge (reading/vocabulary), a second Language Knowledge (grammar, reading comprehension) and Listening.

JLPT (Japanese-Language Proficiency Test)

The Japanese-Language Proficiency Test (JLPT) under joint organization of the Japan Foundation and Japan Educational Exchanges and Services (previously Association of International Education, Japan) started in 1984 as a test to measure and certify the Japanese-language proficiency of those whose native language is not Japanese. In the first year the JLPT was conducted in 15 countries, and approximately 7,000 examinees took the test. Since then, the JLPT has become the largest Japanese-language test in the world, with approximately 610,000 examinees in 62 countries and areas worldwide in 2011. This success is entirely due to the support and cooperation of all involved.


JLPT certificates offer various advantages, ranging from recognition as academic credit and graduation certification at schools to preferential treatment at companies and acknowledgement of qualification in society.

Planning to Study in Japan?

Get free 1-on-1 counselling with our experts